Loreta Castro Reguera to head LafargeHolcim Awards jury for Latin America in 2020

A jury of nine experts headed by Loreta Castro Reguera, Design Director and Founder of Taller Capital (Mexico), will evaluate entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for the region of Latin America. The Awards seek real projects as well as bold ideas that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The competition offers a total of USD 2 million in prize money and is open for entries until February 25, 2020.

In Latin America, the jury includes Loreta Castro Reguera (Head) as well as Sandra Barclay, Principal at Barclay & Crousse Architecture (Peru); Luis Callejas, Co-Founder of Luis Callejas & Charlotte Hansson Landscape & Architecture (Colombia); Fernando Diez, Professor of Urbanism, Universidad de Palermo (Argentina); Vanderley John, Professor of Construction Engineering at Universidade de São Paulo (Brazil); and Cecilia Puga, Principal & Founder of Cecilia Puga Architects (Chile).

The jury will be complemented by members of the Academic Committee of the LafargeHolcim Foundation Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies, and Harry Gugger, Professor for Architectural & Urban Design, both Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (Switzerland), together with Edelio Bermejo, Group Head of Research & Development, LafargeHolcim Innovation Center (France).

Hosted by the Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico), an associated university of the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the jury will rank submissions using the five “target issues” for sustainable construction: covering innovation and transferability (progress), ethical standards and social inclusion (people), resource and environmental performance (planet), economic viability and compatibility (prosperity), and contextual and aesthetic impact (place).

The Awards competition is open for entries until February 25, 2020 and recognizes projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields. A comprehensive “Step-by-step” guide explains the evaluation criteria and illustrates how to enter the competition at www.lafargeholcim-awards.org

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation advances the discourse on sustainable construction mainly through its Awards, the world’s most significant competition for sustainable design. The Foundation is an initiative of LafargeHolcim, the global leader in building materials and solutions.

Media releases for the remaining four regions with detailed jury descriptions
Media release for Europe (.pdf)
Media release for North America (.pdf)
Media release for Middle East Africa (.pdf)
Media release for Asia Pacific (.pdf)

Press Info
LafargeHolcim Awards